Day # 9 ~ More is not necessarily better…

Kale Chips from Food Stories with Wendy Zelmer –  I had not heard of using kale to make chips until this last week.  I had the opportunity to try them and really enjoyed the flavour.  I “pinned” the recipe on Pinterest and went about collecting the ingredients.  Some food facts from Dr. Joseph Mercola about kale: Kale eases lung congestion and is beneficial to the stomach, liver and immune system. It contains lutein and zeaxanthin, which protect the eyes from macular degeneration. It also contains indole-3-carbinol, which may protect against colon cancer. Kale is an excellent source of calcium, iron, vitamins A and C, and chlorophyll. I had no idea!  The chips are pretty easy to make, granted you know how to cut the kale up properly. The seasoning is simple, Olive oil, sea salt and parmesan cheese.  Where I went wrong with this recipe is thinking “more” sea salt would be better – not true!  I made the second batch, made some corrections and the results were very tasty.  Give the recipe a try, your body will thank you. For this and other recipes go to http://pinterest.com/kimberleyberges/pinterest-365/